Galloway Woodturners

We're in Galloway and we turn wood

Galloway Woodturners 2018 Programme

2018 Programme

Date Topic Demonstrator Wood of the month Competition
Tue 9th January No Club Meeting
Tue 13th February McNaughton Centre Saver vs Woodcut Bowlsaver Phil Howard and Carl Burn Fir Any item
Tue 13th March

(At club meeting)

Professional Demonstrator Eugene Grimley Maple A  bowl
Wed. 14th March Master Class Eugene Grimley
Sat 7th April Professional Demonstrator Margaret Garrard
Sun 8th April Master Class Margaret Garrard
Tue10th April Non-round bowl Roger Cutler Apple Set by Eugene
Tue 8th May Robert Sorby visitation Chris Pouncy Monkey Puzzle Non-round bowl
Sat 2nd June Professional Demonstrator Emma, Tiny Turner
Tue 12th June Thread chasing Phil Jones Jarrah Table lamp
Tue 10th July No Club Meeting
Tue 14th August Details to be confirmed Ash Something with a thread
Sat 18th August Professional Demonstrator Joey Richardson
Tue 11th September The journey of a beginner Chas Green Sequoia To be announced in August
Tue 9th October 7.00pm     AGM (Subs due)
Thereafter ~ Making a Ghodiyu  Rolf Buwert  Oak  Set by Chas
Tue 13th November Jewellry To be confirmed Walnut Set by Rolf
Tue 11th December Box with curly top Roger Cutler Dogwood Jewellry

2108 Workshops

Minimum of 3 people to run the workshop, no spectators; you learn by doing, not watching.

Date Subject Tutor Time Comments
Sunday 25th March Sharpening Phil Howard and Phil Jones 13.30 – 16.30
Saturday 12th May Better bowl making Rolf Buwert 10.00 – 15.00 Max 7 participants
Saturday 22nd September Box making Roger Cutler 10.00 – 16.00  Max 4 participants
Sunday 18th November Using CA as a finish Phil Howard 13.30 – 16.30

Comments are closed.